Your beacon doesn't track anything. It is a one-way device that transmits the content it is programmed to send. It doesn't receive or log any information. If you want to turn your beacon off so it doesn't transmit anything temporarily, just give it a squeeze. The red flash tells you you are no longer transmitting your content. You can also remove the battery to shut your beacon off.